AI receptionists for dental offices
Front desks miss calls while they check patients in. An AI receptionist can answer those calls, book new patients, and handle routine questions. For a dental office, it also has to handle patient information the way HIPAA requires.
What your calls need
HIPAA means a signed BAA
A receptionist that takes patient details for you handles protected health information. Under HIPAA that makes the vendor a business associate, and you need a signed business associate agreement (BAA) first. We only mark a plan HIPAA-ready when the vendor says it will sign a BAA on that plan. As of our last check, none of the self-serve plans we track does; some vendors offer BAAs on custom plans, so ask for one before you sign up.
New-patient booking
New-patient calls are the ones you can least afford to miss. The receptionist should collect contact and insurance details, then book the visit or pass the request to your team.
Practice-management software
Check whether the vendor connects to your practice-management system. The list below shows which vendors name a native integration with systems dental offices commonly use.
After-hours emergencies
A patient with a dental emergency after hours should reach your on-call dentist or get clear instructions. Add live transfer if you want those calls routed to a person.
What it would cost you
Booking is pre-selected. HIPAA isn't, because no self-serve plan we track includes a BAA at a published price yet (see below). Change anything to match your practice.
Not sure? Calls per weekday × 22.
We start at 3 minutes. Change it to match your calls.
Advanced
Only affects vendors that bill per unique caller. 100% assumes every call is a new caller, the most expensive case.
300 calls a month, 3 min average, billed monthly. How we calculate
Lowest cost that meets your must-haves
$149/mo
$1,788 first year · $0.50 per call
Fine print
- Spam calls: Spam detection is included. The pricing page doesn't say whether spam uses minutes.
- Call counting: Not disclosed.
- Promotions: Paying annually gets 2 months free.
- Overage: Not disclosed.
GoodcallGrowth plan
$154/mo
$1,848 first year · $0.51 per call
Fine print
- Spam calls: A caller counts only if they actually speak to the agent. Quick hang-ups don't count.
- Call counting: Billed per unique phone number per month. Repeat calls from the same number count once.
- Promotions: Not disclosed.
$159.95/mo
$1,919.40 first year · $0.53 per call
Fine print
- Spam calls: Spam and robocalls don't count against your plan.
- Call counting: Calls under 15 seconds don't count.
- Promotions: Not disclosed.
$199/mo
$2,388 first year · $0.66 per call
Fine print
- Spam calls: Spam filtering is included, and calls are unlimited, so spam adds no cost.
- Call counting: Unlimited calls. No fair-use limit is stated.
- Promotions: Not disclosed.
$249/mo
$2,988 first year · $0.83 per call
Fine print
- Spam calls: Spam filtering is included. The pricing page doesn't say whether filtered calls use minutes.
- Call counting: Not disclosed.
- Promotions: Not disclosed.
- The pricing page doesn't say whether Booster Pack minutes are bought ahead or charged automatically.
$274/mo
$3,288 first year · $0.91 per call
Fine print
- Spam calls: Not disclosed.
- Call counting: Voice is billed in credits, 25 credits ($0.25) per minute on this plan. Rounding isn't disclosed.
- Promotions: Not disclosed.
- Extra credits auto-reload at $10 per 1,000 credits and never expire.
$349/mo
$4,188 first year · $1.16 per call
Fine print
- Spam calls: Not disclosed.
- Call counting: Not disclosed.
- Promotions: Not disclosed.
Smith.aiEnterprise plan
$500/mo
$6,000 first year · $1.67 per call
Fine print
- Spam calls: Calls from known spam numbers are filtered out, and you can remove up to 10% of calls a month as spam.
- Call counting: Every answered call counts toward your quota.
- Promotions: A 6-month plan is available at lower rates; details require talking to sales.
- Cancellation needs 30 days' notice.
Not a fit
- JustCallPricing not public (quote only)
- Nextiva XBertPricing not public (quote only)
We may earn a commission if you sign up through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.
If you already use…
- Dentrix: No vendor we track lists a native integration (checked Sep 29, 2026).
- Open Dental: No vendor we track lists a native integration (checked Sep 29, 2026).
- Eaglesoft: No vendor we track lists a native integration (checked Sep 29, 2026).
We may earn a commission if you sign up through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.