AI receptionists for HVAC, plumbing and home services

When you're on a job, the phone keeps ringing. An AI receptionist answers every call, books the routine work, and gets real emergencies to you right away. Below, every receptionist we track is priced at your call volume.

What your calls need

Emergencies need a live handoff

A no-heat call at 9 p.m. or a burst pipe can't wait for a callback. Look for live transfer to your on-call phone, and check whether you can set what counts as urgent.

Routine jobs need booking

Tune-ups, estimates and follow-ups should land in your schedule without you typing them in. The receptionist should book into the calendar or field-service software you already use.

Address and job details

A useful intake captures the address, the problem, and whether the caller is in your service area, so you don't drive out for a job you can't take.

Spanish-speaking customers

If some of your customers prefer Spanish, tick Spanish in the calculator. It removes vendors that can't answer in Spanish.

What it would cost you

Booking and live transfer are pre-selected, since most contractors need both. Change anything to match how you work.

Not sure? Calls per weekday × 22.

We start at 3 minutes. Change it to match your calls.

Must-haves
Billing
Advanced

Only affects vendors that bill per unique caller. 100% assumes every call is a new caller, the most expensive case.

300 calls a month, 3 min average, billed monthly. How we calculate

  1. Lowest cost that meets your must-haves

    Rosie

    Scale plan

    7-day free trial

    $149/mo

    $1,788 first year · $0.50 per call

    Fine print
    • Spam calls: Spam detection is included. The pricing page doesn't say whether spam uses minutes.
    • Call counting: Not disclosed.
    • Promotions: Paying annually gets 2 months free.
    • Overage: Not disclosed.
  2. Goodcall

    Growth plan

    $154/mo

    $1,848 first year · $0.51 per call

    Fine print
    • Spam calls: A caller counts only if they actually speak to the agent. Quick hang-ups don't count.
    • Call counting: Billed per unique phone number per month. Repeat calls from the same number count once.
    • Promotions: Not disclosed.
  3. Upfirst

    Pro plan

    14-day free trial, no card

    $159.95/mo

    $1,919.40 first year · $0.53 per call

    Fine print
    • Spam calls: Spam and robocalls don't count against your plan.
    • Call counting: Calls under 15 seconds don't count.
    • Promotions: Not disclosed.
  4. NextPhone

    Pro plan

    Works with ServiceTitan7-day free trial

    $199/mo

    $2,388 first year · $0.66 per call

    Fine print
    • Spam calls: Spam filtering is included, and calls are unlimited, so spam adds no cost.
    • Call counting: Unlimited calls. No fair-use limit is stated.
    • Promotions: Not disclosed.
  5. AI-Receptionist.com

    Starter plan

    3-day free trial

    $249/mo

    $2,988 first year · $0.83 per call

    Fine print
    • Spam calls: Spam filtering is included. The pricing page doesn't say whether filtered calls use minutes.
    • Call counting: Not disclosed.
    • Promotions: Not disclosed.
    • The pricing page doesn't say whether Booster Pack minutes are bought ahead or charged automatically.
  6. My AI Front Desk

    Business-in-a-Box plan

    7-day free trial

    $274/mo

    $3,288 first year · $0.91 per call

    Fine print
    • Spam calls: Not disclosed.
    • Call counting: Voice is billed in credits, 25 credits ($0.25) per minute on this plan. Rounding isn't disclosed.
    • Promotions: Not disclosed.
    • Extra credits auto-reload at $10 per 1,000 credits and never expire.
  7. Dialzara

    Business Elite plan

    7-day free trial

    $349/mo

    $4,188 first year · $1.16 per call

    Fine print
    • Spam calls: Not disclosed.
    • Call counting: Not disclosed.
    • Promotions: Not disclosed.

Not a fit

We may earn a commission if you sign up through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Vendors that market to home services

Yes means at least one plan includes it. Each pricing page shows which plan.
AI-Receptionist.comNextPhoneRosieSmith.aiUpfirst
Starting price$14/mo$199/mo$49/mo$0/mo$24.95/mo
Pricing modelPer minuteFlat ratePer minutePer callPer call
Cost at 300 calls/mo$249/mo (Starter)$199/mo (Pro)$149/mo (Scale)No plan offers: Live transfer to you$159.95/mo (Pro)
Appointment bookingYesYesYesYesYes
Live transfer to youYesYesYesNoYes
Human receptionist backupNoNoNoNoNo
SpanishYesNoYesYesYes
SMS follow-upNoYesYesNoYes
HIPAA (signs a BAA)NoNoNoNoNo
Free trial3 days7 days7 daysNone stated14 days
Demo lineNone publishedNone publishedNone publishedNone published(833) 564-4778
Best forVery small businesses that want the lowest entry price and pay per minute.Busy offices with high call volume that want one flat price with no overage.Small businesses that want a large minute allowance for the price and English plus Spanish.Businesses that want per-call pricing, a free starter plan, and the option of human backup.Businesses with long calls that want per-call pricing and every feature on every plan.
Pros
  • Entry plan at $14 a month with live call transfer
  • No setup fees
  • Spanish is named among 55+ supported languages
  • Unlimited calls with no overage fees
  • Booking, live transfer and post-call texts on every plan
  • Integrates with ServiceTitan and Clio
  • 250 minutes for $49 a month
  • English and Spanish on every plan
  • 2 months free on yearly billing
  • Free plan with 25 calls a month
  • Per-call pricing, so call length doesn't change the bill
  • English and Spanish call handling
  • Booking, live transfer, Spanish and caller texting on every plan
  • Spam, robocalls and calls under 15 seconds don't count
  • 14-day free trial with no card required
Cons
  • The two cheapest plans include only 60 minutes a month
  • Calendar booking starts on the $39 Starter plan
  • Only a 3-day free trial
  • Entry price of $199 a month is high for low call volumes
  • Spanish and HIPAA support aren't stated
  • Booking and live transfer start on the $149 Scale plan
  • No published overage rate
  • Overage of $2.17 to $3.00 per call adds up at higher volumes
  • Human escalation costs extra per call
  • Live transfer to your own phone isn't stated on the pricing page
  • The $24.95 plan covers only 30 calls
  • HIPAA BAAs only on the custom plan
Visit AI-Receptionist.comVisit NextPhoneVisit RosieVisit Smith.aiVisit Upfirst

If you already use…

We may earn a commission if you sign up through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.